You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server. Please enable scripts and reload this page.
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Main Content
State Agency Directory
Change Font Size
Search this site
WV Real Estate Commission
Meet the Commissioners
Meeting Minutes 2016/2017
Criminal Background Checks
After Passing Exam/s
Providers & Instructors
Search this site
Real Estate Commission
Basic Broker Licensing Requirements
Minimum age 18 years.
1. Every applicant must be a High School graduate or equivalent (GED)
2. Must submit proof that you have completed 90 clock hours (6 credit hours) in "Commission Approved" real estate courses, if you're currently licensed as a salesperson in West Virginia. If you are not currently licensed as a salesperson in West Virginia, you must submit proof that you have completed 180 clock hours (12 credit hours) in "Commission Approved" real estate courses.
3. In order to be accepted, all pre-license education must have been completed during the five year period preceding the application date. An original "certification of course completion" must be submitted with your application.
Every applicant must have been licensed for a minimum of two (2) years as a salesperson. In order for the Commission to rule on your experience, you must, at minimum, supply listing, sales, and property management information for a period covering the current calendar year, and the previous two calendar years. The information must be entered on the attached forms. Duplicate the forms if necessary.
WAIVER- If you wish to apply for a full, or partial waiver of the apprenticeship requirement, you must file the
You must obtain a
Broker's Affidavit on Salesperson's Training
form from ALL brokers with whom you have been licensed as a salesperson.
Attorneys at Law are not required to show proof of education, or fulfill the Apprenticeship requirement; however, attorneys must obtain a "Certificate of Good Standing" from the West Virginia State Bar, and file the certificate with their application for a broker's license. All attorneys must successfully pass the examination.
If you currently hold, or have held a real estate license in any other state, you must contact the respective state’s Real Estate Commission and obtain a Certification of Licensure. The original certification must be submitted with your application, and must be submitted within 60 days prior to filing your application with the West Virginia Real Estate Commission.
A certification is not a copy of your license.
All applicants for an original Broker or Associate Broker license are required to submit to a state and national criminal background check
prior to approval of the application and taking the licensing examination.
Your completed application will be submitted to the Commission for review at the next scheduled meeting. No application will be presented to the Commission prior to the receipt of all required supplemental documentation. Upon the Commission's approval, you will be notified when and where to appear for the examination.
NOTE: A Course Outline and Supplementary Materials have been given to all pre-licensing schools by the Commission for dissemination to examinees. Contact the school for these materials
Pre-Licensing Education Requirements
If you are currently licensed as a salesperson in West Virginia, you must submit proof that you have completed 90 clock hours (6 credit hours) in Commission approved real estate pre-licensing education. If you are not a West Virginia licensee, you must submit proof that you have completed 180 clock hours (12 credit hours) in Commission approved real estate pre-licensing education. In order to be accepted, all pre-licensing education must have been completed during the five year period preceding the date of application. An original certification of course completion must be submitted with your application or prior to the examination deadline.
One more step in the journey!!! Information on Modules 1 and 3 will be coming soon!
**Registration is now open for Module 2, HR and Interpersonal Skills, of the on-line WV Broker Course at BridgeValley Community and Technical College. Please contact :egistration is now open for Module 2, HR and Interpersonal Skills, of the on-line WV Broker Course at BridgeValley Community and Technical College.
Please contact :
Laura McCullough, Vice President of Community Education
2001 Union Carbide Dr
South Charleston, WV 25303
Education requirement for Broker applicants who are currently licensed or previously licensed in other states:
Partial credit may be granted for real estate courses completed in other licensing jurisdictions. No substitution will be allowed for the 30-hour portion of the 180 hour broker pre-licensing requirement, which covers the West Virginia Real Estate Licensing Act and Legislative Rules.
All non-resident applicants are required to:
Obtain certifications from all Commissions or License Divisions in which they currently hold or have held a real estate license. The certification shall indicate the type of license held, the length of time the applicant has held the license, if the license was secured by passing a written examination, and clearly state whether or not the licensee has ever been subject to any disciplinary action. Send the original certification(s) of license with the application. Certifications that are dated more than 60 days prior to filing the West Virginia application will not be accepted.
Maintain a definite place of business in the State of West Virginia if their state of residence requires West Virginia brokers to maintain an office in their state.
Submit to fingerprinting and a criminal background check.
Comply with all provisions of the Real Estate License Act (WV Code § 30-40) and Legislative Rules.
Submit the following documents, in addition to your application:
Affidavit of Residency.pdf
Irrevocable Consent for Service for Process.pdf
At it's meeting on February 15, 2017, the West Virginia Real Estate Commission moved to eliminate all currently in use reciprocal agreements which allow full reciprocity
between West Virginia and the counterpart state.
Out-of-State licensees who wish to obtain a WV license (Salesperson or Broker), will be required, in addition to the current requirements, to pass the WV Specific portion of the licensing examination for Salesperson or Broker.
The Commission will cease to process out-of-state applications, and issue licenses to out-of-state candidates.
This new procedure will be implemented on April 1, 2017.
Broker applicants are required to show proof of one-hundred eighty (180) clock hours of pre-licensing real estate education (continuing education credits are not acceptable). If the real estate education already completed does not equal the total required clock hours, additional hours will be needed to meet the West Virginia requirement and must be completed before filing your application. Original certificates of course completion, which indicate total hours completed, must be attached to the application. In order to be accepted, all pre-license education must have been completed during the five-year period preceding application date. Applications submitted without proof of pre-licensing hours will not be accepted. Upon submitting an application and all required documents, the applicant will then be scheduled to take the next available examination.
Application Fee (first time filing): $ 25.00
Examination Fee: $ 25.00 , if administered by the Commission
Original Broker License: $150.00
Original Associate Broker License: $150.00
Broker Renewal Fee (annual): $150.00 (late fees apply; see fee schedule)
Associate Broker Renewal Fee (annual): $150.00 (late fees apply; see fee schedule)
(in state, attach with link below)
Broker Application Packet (Non-Resident).pdf
(out of state)
Associate Broker Application.pdf
(to be used when applying to be an Associate Broker)
Trust Fund Account.pdf
All completed applications will be submitted to the Commission for review at the next scheduled meeting. No application will be presented to the Commission prior to the receipt of all required supplemental documentation. Upon the Commission’s approval, you will be notified when and where to appear for the examination.