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BEFORE THE WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMI: TATE
WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION,
Complainant,
V. Formal Complaint No. C-18-028

GEORGE W, BRENT,

Licensed Salesperson

License No. WV-0019416
Respondent.

CONSENT DECREE

Respondent, George W. Brent (“Respondent”), and the West Virginia Real Estate
Commission (“Commission™) enter into the following Consent Decree for the purpose of resolving
the above-styled complaint. As reflected in this Consent Decree, the parties have reached an
agreement in which Respondent agrees and stipulates to the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law,
and disposition of this matter. The Commission, having approved such agreement, does hereby Find
and Order as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Respondent is a licensed real estate salesperson in the State of West Virginia, holding
license number WV-0019416.

2. On or about May 24, 2018, the Commission initiated the above-styled Formal
complaint against Respondent based on Respondent’s failure to disclose on his annual license

renewal that he had been a party to a criminal proceeding in the prior 12 months.



3 Specifically, on or about July 22, 2017, Respondent was arrested on a misdemeanor
charge of domestic battery in Berkeley County, West Virginia.

4, On Respondent’s application for renewal of his salesperson license for the licensure
period ending on June 30, 2018 (licensure period July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018), Respondent marked
“No™ to the following question: “Are you now or have you been, within the past 12 months: (1) a
party to any civil suit or proceeding arising out of any transaction involving real property, other than
actions for eviction or for the collection of back rent, or, (2) a party to any criminal proceeding other
than a misdemeanor traffic violation?”

3 By email to the Commission dated June 15, 2018, Respondent acknowledged his
failure to disclose the arrest on the annual renewal form and took full responsibility for his actions.

6. At its regular meeting on July 18, 2018, the Commission considered all of the
information received on the matter and determined that there was probable cause to conclude that
Respondent’s failure to disclose his arrest on the annual renewal form violated the West Virginia

Real Estate License Act.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Pursuant to the West Virginia Real Estate License Act, West Virginia Code § 30-40-1,
et seq., the Commission is charged with the regulation of the practice of real estate brokerage in this

State, and, thus, has jurisdiction over this Formal Complaint.



2. In relevant part, West Virginia Code § 30-40-7(1) authorizes the Commission to
impose sanctions for violations of the West Virginia Real Estate License Act, including, but not
limited to, an administrative fine not to exceed $1,000 per day per violation; probation; revocation;
suspension; restitution; additional education; denial of future license; downgrade of license:
reprimand; and/or the return of compensation collected from an injured consumer.

3. West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(1) authorizes the Commission to sanction a
licensee if the liconsee “[o]btains, renews or attcmipts to obtain or renew a license, for himseif,
herself or another, through the submission of any application or other writing that contains false,
fraudulent or misleading information[.]”

4. West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(2) authorizes the Commission to sanction a
licensee if the licensee “[m]akes any substantial misrepresentation[.]”

8, West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(19) authorizes the Commission to sanction a
licensee if the licensee “[v]iolates any of the provisions of [the West Virginia Real Estate License
Act], any rule or order or final decision issued by the commission.” Legislative Rule, 174 CSR 1 §
20.2 mandates that licensees report to the Commission when he or she is a defendant in any criminal
proceeding other than a misdemeanor traffic violation.

6. Respondent’s failure to disclose the above-referenced criminal proceeding violates
West Virginia Code §§ 30-40-19(a)(1), (2), and (19), and renders his license subject to discipline by

the Commission.



CONSENT

By signing below, Respondent agrees to the following:

L. Respondent has had the opportunity to consult with counsel and executes this Consent
Decree voluntarily, freely, without compulsion or duress and mindful that it has legal consequences.
No person or entity has made any promise or given any inducement whatsoever to encourage
Respondent to make this settlement other than as set forth herein. Respondent acknowledges that he
may pursue this matter through appropriate administrative proceedings and is aware of his legal
rights regarding this matter, but intelligently and voluntarily waives such rights.

2. Respondent acknowledges the Findings of Fact set forth above, admits that there is
probable cause to conclude that the violations set forth above in the Conclusions of Law occurred,
and consents to the entry of the following Order:

ORDER

On the basis of the foregoing, the Commission hereby ORDERS as follows:

1. Respondent is hereby reprimanded.

2. Respondent shall pay a fine in the amount $500.00 payable to the State of West
Virginia.

3. Respondent shall also reimburse the Commission its costs associated with this

Complaint and its attorney fees, in the amount of $260.00.



4. The total payment of $760.00 shall be paid within 6 months of the entry of this
Consent Decree by the Commission by certified check or money order made payable to the State of
West Virginia and sent directly to the Commission’s Office.

3 Any deviation from the requirements of this Consent Decree, without the prior written
consent of the Commission, shall constitute a violation of an order of the Commission and may
result in further disciplinary action, including, but not limited to, suspension of Respondent’s license.
The Commission shall immediately notify Respondent via certified mail of the alleged violation of
the Consent Decree. In the event Respondent contests the alleged violation of the Consent Decree,
Respondent is entitled to a hearing to chailenge the alleged violation. Any such hearing shall be
scheduled and conducted in accordance with the provisions of W. Va. Code §§ 30-1-8 and 30-40-1 et
seq. and any procedural rules promulgated by the Commission. At its discretion, the Commission
also may schedule a hearing on its own initiative for the purpose of allowing the Commission to
consider further discipline against Respondent based upon Respondent’s violation of this Order of

the Commuission.
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