BEFORE THE WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF:

MARLA BASS SINKO Complaint No. P-18-001
Licensed Real Estate Broker
License No. WV-0023574

CATHY E. SMITH

Licensed Salesperson
License No. WV-0024231

CONSENT DECREE

Now comes the Respondents, Marla Bass Sinko (hereinafter at times “Respondent Sinko™
or “Broker Sinko”), Cathy E. Smith (hereinafter at times “Respondent Smith™ or “Salesperson
Smith”) (collectively “Respondents™), and the West Virginia Real Estate Commission (hereinafter
“Commission™), by Cheryl L. Dawson, its Chairman, for the purpose of resolving a complaint filed
against Respondents by Glen B. Warrington (hereinafter at times “Owner” or “Mr. Warrington™).
As reflected in this Consent Decree, the parties have reached an agreement in which Respondents
agree and stipulate to the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law set forth in this Consent Decree
concerning the proper disposition of this matter. The Commission, having approved such

agreement, does hereby Find and Order as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Commission, as the state entity created to regulate the conduct of real estate brokers,
associate brokers and salespersons, has jurisdiction over this Complaint.
2, Respondent Sinko is a broker doing business as Glade Springs Real Estate, LLC (“GSRE”)

in Daniels, West Virginia, holding broker license number WV-0023574.



3 Respondent Smith is a real estate salesperson licensed by the Commission, holding license
number WV-0024231, working under the supervision of Respondent Sinko.

4. Complaint P-18-001 filed by Mr. Warrington was received on August 28, 2017, and
responses were timely received from each Respondent, after which the Commission received
additional information from the Complainant and was advised the Respondents would be
represented by Counsel.

3 This Complaint concerns a somewhat convoluted real estate transaction regarding 126
Long Drive, Daniels, West Virginia (hereinafter referred to as “the Glade Springs transaction™)
involving Mr. Warrington and his wife; Respondents; Meridian Marketing Direct, the entity named
on the relevant documents (*“MMD?” or the “Lease Purchaser™); the principals of MMD, Mr. and
Mrs. Sink, who occupied the property; and Attorney Clyde Smith (“Attorney Smith™), who is an
associate broker at GSRE and the husband of Respondent Smith.

6. The following events occurred between August 2015 and the end of July 2017:

a. Complainant listed the property with Respondents, who had represented
Complainant in the purchase of the home in 2009, by agreement signed by Owner
on August 15, 2015, at which time a Notice of Agency Relationship was signed
reflecting Respondent Smith’s representation of Owner.

b. The listing agreement provided for a commission of 5%, which was payable when
(1) Owner sells, exchanges, or otherwise transfers, or contracts to sell, the property
... at the close of the sale, exchange or other transfer, or (2) [if Owner is unable or
unwilling to consummate the sale].

c. There being no offers of purchase in the first year, Owner agreed to consider a

lease-purchase arrangement on the property.



A Lease Agreement was entered into between Owner and MMD on September 6,
2016, which leased the property from September 15, 2016 through January 5, 2017
for $1,800.00 per month, with $1,800.00 to be paid to GSRE as commission at the
“closing.™

A Real Estate Purchase Contract (“Purchase Agreement No. 17) was also entered
into between Owner and MMD on September 6, 2016, which agreed to the payment
of $270,000.00 for the real estate and $15,000.00 for certain furnishings, payment
to be made in quarterly installments of $30,000.00 beginning on January 5, 2017.
Purchase Agreement No. 1 referenced a closing of January 5, 2017, and stated that
Respondent Smith was to receive a 5% commission from Owner’s proceeds minus
the $1,800.00 first month’s rent which would be deducted at the closing.

In December of 2016, Mr. Sink contacted Respondent Smith requesting some
changes to Purchase Agreement No. 1, which were agreed to by Owner according
to Respondent Smith, and a new agreement (“Purchase Agreement No. 2”) was
prepared by Attorney Smith and then signed by the parties.

Purchase Agreement No. 2 moved the “closing” to January 9, 2017, and set forth a
different payment schedule which modified the $30,000.00 quarterly payments to
$16,000.00 at the closing, two payments of $7,000.00 in February and March, and
$10,000.00 per month payments until paid in full.

All three agreements, as well as the promissory note for $277,950.00 referenced in
both purchase agreements, contemplated the conveyance of a general warranty deed

and transfer of title.



The promissory note for $277,950.00 was dated January 5, 2017 but was pre-signed

by Mr. Sink on an unknown date.

The Glade Springs transaction did not proceed in accordance with the terms of

Purchase Agreement No. 2 or the promissory note in that no deed of trust was

executed simultaneously (in fact, no deed of trust was ever prepared or executed),

and there was no transfer of title.

The “closing” occurred on January 5, 2017, as originally scheduled, and was

attended only by Attorney Smith and Mr. Sink and involved only the receipt of a

check from MMD for $16,000.00.

The $16,000.00 payment was itemized and distributed by Attorney Smith as

reflected in a “Breakdown of Fees” dated January 6, 2017, which paid GSRE

$7.450.00 (the balance due on the claimed amount of commission of $14,250.00

(5% of $285,000.00) after deduction of the $1,800.00 “finder’s fee” and $5,000.00

in earnest money already in the custody and control of Broker Sinko and paid

Owner $8,372.94 after the deduction of certain expenses, including $150.00 to

Attorney Smith.

There is nothing in the file that indicates Owner was apprised of the nature and

extent of the “closing™ until the following occurred after the closing:

(1) Owner called Respondent Smith about documents for his taxes, and she
advised him to call Attorney Smith about the details of the Glade Springs

transaction;



(2) After a discussion between Attorney Smith and Owner, Attorney Smith sent
Owner a letter on January 31, 2017, explaining why there was no transfer
of the title to the property.

Similarly, there is nothing in the file regarding the agency relationship between

Respondents and the parties to the Glade Springs transaction until a dual Notice of

Agency Relationship was signed by the parties in February 2017, after a

representative for Owner questioned the dual agency.

The Glade Springs transaction quickly became non-performing, with no payments

after May 1, 2017, after which there were several communications between Owner

or his representative and Respondents regarding attempts for resumption of
payments which were unsuccessful and other matters.

Mr. & Mrs. Sink vacated the premises on May 31, 2017, taking all Owner’s

furnishings, and Owner sent a Notice of Right to Cure Default to MMD and the

Sinks on June 9, 2017, but the transaction remained in default.

As a result of the non-performance, Owners retained ownership of the subject

property and over the course of the Glade Springs transaction received almost

$35,000.00 for damage deposits, rent, earnest money, and the initial payments paid
pursuant to the purchase agreement.

Respondent Sinko. Attorney Smith and a representative of GSRE met on July 25,

2017.

On July 26, 2017, Attorney Smith sent a letter on his attorney letterhead to Owner

stating that GSRE was entitled to the full commission of $14,250.00 and informing

Owner that GSRE declined to continue to list Owner’s property.



u. The Commission’s investigation revealed no payments to Attorney Smith by any
entity other than the $150.00 for contract preparation included in the Breakdown of
Fees which was deducted from the amount paid to Owner at the “closing.”
V. The Commission, at its meeting on October 18, 2017, found probable cause to
proceed against Respondents upon a finding that some of the allegations, if true,
constituted violations of various provisions of West Virginia Code §§ 30-40-1 e
seq.
7 Some of the allegations set forth in the Complaint, even if true, either do not violate the
West Virginia Real Estate License Act (the “Act”) or the legislative rules of the Commission or
are found to be de minimis compared to the violations addressed herein, and the Commission
makes no findings regarding same. Such allegations include Respondents® failure to conduct any
credit check or other check of the LLC or its principals, mistakes in Respondents’ paperwork and
correspondence, unorthodox contracts being used (but for the findings regarding the “closing” not
proceeding in accordance with the purchase agreement), and other matters.
8. Likewise, although it is a violation of the West Virginia Real Estate License Act for a
licensee to procure an attorney for a client or customer or solicit business for any attorney (W, Va.
Code § 30-40-19(a)(20)), the Commission makes no finding that Attorney Smith was procured by
Respondents or that they solicited business for him since there is some indication that Complainant
voluntarily selected Attorney Smith to provide legal services or acquiesced to same.

9. The Commission finds that:
a. The Glade Springs transaction inured more to the benefit of Respondents and the

Lease-Purchaser, with Owner not being provided the information, documentation,



and representation sufficient to meet the fiduciary duty owed to Owner by
Respondents.

b. Respondents’ transaction file is wholly lacking with regard to the required timely
consents to and notices regarding their agency relationship to the parties to the
Glade Springs transaction, and it is not clear that Respondents ever assumed the
role of agent for Lease Purchaser, much less when such agency commenced.

E: Based on these findings, Respondents’ taking a Commission of $14,250.00 at the
“closing” when there was no transfer of title as contemplated by the purchase
agreements nor meaningful involvement in or knowledge of the Glade Springs
transaction by Respondents after it was essentially turned over to Attorney Smith
for handling constituted a breach of their fiduciary duty to Owner.

d. The $1,800.00 agreed-to commission set forth in the lease agreement is an amount
reasonably paid to Respondents in connection with the Glade Springs transaction.

e The Glade Springs transaction as a whole, as evidenced by the various documents
or lack thereof, indicates that both Respondents were deficient in their knowledge
and understanding of agency law, fiduciary duty, the lease-purchase process and
the clarity required regarding the amount and timing of any commission paid to the
licensee in connection with a lease-purchase, and the difference between a deeded
purchase and a land contract.

10. Respondent Smith admits:

a. she should have had but did not have adequate and timely documentation in her file

showing her agency relationship with the parties, in violation of W. Va. Code

§ 30-40-19(a)(7) and W. Va. Code R. § 174-1-22.4;



b. even if there was a dual agency, she did not have the parties sign the required Notice
of Agency Relationship regarding the dual agency until February of 2017, in
violation of W. Va. Code § 30-40-19(a)(13); W. Va. Code § 30-40-26(d) and
W. Va. Code R. § 174-1-22.1; and

C. her lack of involvement in and knowledge about the Glade Springs transaction
constituted an abandonment of the agency relationship, at least as to Owner, which
constituted a breach of the fiduciary duty she owed to Owner.

1. Respondent Sinko admits she failed to adequately supervise Respondent Smith in
connection with the Glade Springs transaction, which failure also constituted or demonstrated a
breach of the fiduciary duty she owed to Owner.

12. The parties have agreed to settle the Complaints informally through the entry of this
Consent Decree.

13. The Commission has incurred expenses in connection with these complaints in an amount
in excess of $4,500.00, which expenses relate to the Commission’s legal and procedural expenses,
as well as time expended by Commission staff in the review and investigation of the Complaint,
including matters considered in the payment of restitution, and other expenses incurred by the

Commission in the prosecution and resolution of this Complaint.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. West Virginia Code § 30-40-1 et seq., vests the Commission with the authority and

responsibility to regulate real estate brokers, associate brokers and salespersons in the State of

West Virginia.



2. West Virginia Code § 30-40-7 gives the Commission all the powers set forth in West
Virginia Code § 30-1-1 ef seq. and additional powers, including the discretionary power to “impose
one or more sanctions as considered appropriate in the circumstances for the discipline of a
licensee. Available sanctions include, but are not limited to, denial of a license or renewal thereof,
administrative fine not to exceed one thousand dollars per day per violation, probation, revocation,
suspension, restitution, required additional education, censure, denial of future license, downgrade
of license, reprimand or order the return of compensation collected from an injured consumer.”
3. W. Va. Code § 30-40-19(a)(7) provides that the Commission may revoke, suspend or
impose any other sanction against a licensee if the licensee “[a]cts for more than one party in a
transaction without the knowledge and written consent of all parties for whom he or she acts.”
4. West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(12) provides that the Commission may revoke, suspend
or impose any other sanction against a licensee if the licensee “[f]ails to disclose, on the notice of
agency relationship form promulgated by the [Clommission, whether the licensee represents the
seller, buyer or both.”
5. West Virginia Code § 30-40-26(d) states that “[e]very licensee shall disclose in writing, on
the notice of agency relationship form promulgated by the [Clommission, whether the licensee
represents the seller, the buyer or both. The disclosure shall be made prior to any person signing
any contract for representation by a licensee or a contract for the sale or purchase of real estate.”
0. Among the rules implementing W. Va. Code § 30-40-26(d), W. Va. Code R. § 174-1-22
regarding Agency Disclosure sets forth the following provisions:
a. Each licensee shall provide a written notice disclosing which party the licensee is
representing as agent to all parties to a real estate transaction. The required written
notice shall be signed by all parties, and the real estate broker shall maintain a copy

of the notice in his or her transaction files. The licensee shall execute this written
notice prior to any party signing any contract for representation, offer to purchase,



to sell, or to exchange real estate for which a broker’s license is required by W. Va.
Code §§ 30-40-1, et seq. W. Va. Code R. § 174-1-22.1.

b. Any licensee acting as agent of a buyer, shall disclose his or her agency relationship
to the seller, or the broker representing the seller, prior to any showing of the
property or the initiation of negotiations whichever occurs first. W. Va. Code R.
§ 174-1-22.2.

v A licensee may not be the agent for both the buyer and the seller without obtaining
the written consent of both the buyer and the seller. W. Va. Code R. § 174-1-22.4.

d. If change in a licensee’s agency status makes an earlier disclosure inaccurate,
incomplete or misleading, the licensee shall prepare a revised disclosure form and
immediately present it to all parties to the transaction. The revised disclosure must
be dated and must be acknowledged in writing by all parties. W. Va. Code R.
§ 174-1-22.5.

7. Respondents’ failure to comply with the law regarding consent to and notice of agency
relationship violates W. Va. Code § 30-40-19(a)(7). West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(12), and
West Virginia Code § 30-40-26(d) and related legislative rules.

8. West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(30) provides that the Commission has the authority to
revoke, suspend or otherwise discipline a licensed broker if the broker “[f]ails to adequately
supervise all associate brokers and salespersons employed by him or her.”

Y W. Va. Code § 30-40-19(a)(31) provides that the Commission may revoke, suspend or
impose any other sanction against a licensee if the licensee: “(b)reaches a fiduciary duty owed by
a licensee to his or her principal in a real estate transaction.”

10. Respondents, in allowing the Glade Springs transaction to proceed as set forth above,
breached the fiduciary duty owed to their principal, the Owner, in violation of West Virginia Code
§ 30-40-19(a)(31).

11. W. Va. Code § 30-40-19(a)(37) provides that the Commission may revoke, suspend or

impose any other sanction against a licensee if the licensee: “(e)ngages in any act or conduct



which constitutes or demonstrates bad faith, incompetency or untrustworthiness, or dishonest,
fraudulent or improper dealing.”

12. The Commission may assess administrative costs, which shall be placed in the account of
the Commission. Any fine shall be deposited in the state treasury’s general revenue account. West

Virginia Code § 30-1-8(a).

CONSENT
Respondents, by signing below, agree to the following:
I Respondents execute this Consent Decree voluntarily, freely, without compulsion or duress
and mindful that it has legal consequences. No person or entity has made any promise or given
any inducement whatsoever to encourage Respondents to make this settlement other than as set
forth herein. Respondents acknowledge that they may pursue this matter through appropriate
administrative and/or court proceedings and are aware of their legal rights regarding this matter,
but intelligently and voluntarily waive such rights.

2 Respondents consent to the findings above and the entry of the following Order.

ORDER
On the basis of the foregoing, the Commission hereby ORDERS as follows:
1. Respondent Smith is REPRIMANDED and is ORDERED to pay to the State of West
Virginia, by and through the Commission, a fine in the total amount of Fifteen Hundred
Dollars ($1,500.00) for Respondent Smith’s violations of the West Virginia Real Estate

License Act, including her failure to comply with the laws of consent to and notice of

agency.
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Respondent Sinko is hereby REPRIMANDED and is ORDERED to pay to the State of
West Virginia, by and through the Commission, a fine in the amount of Seven Hundred
Fifty Dollars ($750.00) for Respondent Sinko’s violations of the West Virginia Real Estate
License Act, including her failure to supervise her salesperson, in violation of W. Va. Code
§ 30-40-19(a)(30).

Within six (6) months after the entry of this Consent Decree, Respondents shall each
complete a total of seven (7) hours of approved continuing education, which shall be in
addition to the continuing education required for annual renewal, and shall submit
documentation to the Commission demonstrating successful completion of each class or
course within thirty (30) days of same.

Respondents shall pay Glen B. Warrington Nine Thousand Dollars ($9,000.00) in partial
RESTITUTION for the sales commission paid to Respondents by Attorney Smith.
Respondent Smith shall pay administrative costs associated with this matter in the
significantly discounted amount of Three Thousand Dollars ($3,000.00).

The total payment of fines and administrative costs shall be paid by check or money order
payable to the State of West Virginia and sent directly to the Commission’s office within
ninety (90) days of the date of entry of the Consent Decree.

Payment of the Nine Thousand Dollars ($9,000.00) in restitution shall be paid by check or
money order made payable to Glen B. Warrington and sent to the Commission’s Office
within ninety (90) days of the entry of this Consent Decree by the Commission for
forwarding to Mr. Warrington.

Any deviation from the requirements of this Consent Decree, without the prior written

consent of the Commission, by either Respondent shall constitute a violation of an Order



of the Commission by that Respondent and may, upon Board action, result in the summary

suspension of her license until such time as she achieves full compliance.

The Commission shall immediately notify the non-complying Respondent(s) via certified
mail of the alleged violation and whether there is a summary suspension of her license. The non-
complying Respondent may request reinstatement of her license, which shall be probationary,
through renewal of this Consent Decree, or execution of a new Consent Decree which may contain
different or additional terms. The Commission is not bound to comply with the non-complying
Respondent’s request for probationary reinstatement.

In the event the non-complying Respondent contests the allegations of violation of the
Consent Decree resulting in the suspension of the Respondent’s license, she may request a hearing
to seek reinstatement of her license. Any such hearing shall be scheduled and conducted in
accordance with the provisions of West Virginia Code §§ 30-1-8 and 30-40-1 et seq. and any
procedural rules promulgated by the Commission. At its discretion, the Commission also may
schedule a hearing on its own initiative for the purpose of allowing the Commission to consider
further discipline against the non-complying Respondent based upon her violation of this Order of

the Commussion.

AGREED TO BY:

Marde Lass Sindio ov| 27 )1

MARLA BASS SINKO DATE
W M 6[27)18
CATHYA. SMITH DATE '



ENTERED into the records of the Real Estate Commission this /¢’ day of 3(.! L/ s

2018. /
WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION,

By: /J/KUL,Q }f l@ﬂwﬂ”‘/

CHERYL [}, DAWSON,
Its Chairperson

Prepared by:

Debra L. Hamilton (WV Bar No. 1553)
Deputy Attorney General

OFFICE OF ATTORNEY GENERAL
State Capitol Building 1, Room 26-E
Charleston, WV 25302-0220

(304) 558-2522

(304) 558-2525 facsimile

Counsel for West Virginia Real Estate Commission

Revised and approved by:

o Bﬁ/ 13
J. VICTO NAGAN (WV Bar No. 5254)
Daniel J. (WVSB #11866)
Pullin, Fowlen, Flanagan, Brown & Poe, Inc.

600 Neville Street, Suite 201
Beckley, WV 25301

(304) 254-9300

(304) 255-5519 facsimile

Counsel for Respondents
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