BEFORE THE WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE CR‘[E@)E IVE

DEC 117 2013
WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION, | ATTORNEY GENERAL'S
Complainant, OFFICE
V. Complaint No. P-14-013
CHARLES BOGGS III,

Licensed Real Estate Broker
License No. WV-0025355

Respondent.

CONSENT DECREE

Now comes the Respondent, Charles Boggs III (hereinafter “Respondent”), and the West
Virginia Real Estate Commission (hereinafter "Commission"), by Richard E. Strader, its Executive
Director, for the purpose of resolving a complaint filed against Respondent by the Commission. As
reflected in this Consent Decree, the parties have reached an agreement in which Respondent agrees
and stipulates to the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law set forth in this Consent Decree
concerning the proper disposition of this matter. The Commission, having approved such agreement,
does hereby Find and Order as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Commission is a state entity created by W. Va. Code § 30-40-1 er seq., and is
authorized to regulate the conduct of real estate brokers, associate brokers and salespersons.
2. Respondent is a broker licensed by the Commission, holding license number WV-
0025355 and is associated with the firm River Valley Properties LLC.
3. On October 1, 2013, Matthew Perno (“Complainant”) filed a complaint against
Respondent which alleged that Respondent had received earest money in the amount of $500.00
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from Complainant on August 4, 2013 on a real estate sales contract between Respondent as seller
and Respondent as buyer chh was cancelled on September 15,2013, and the money had not been
refunded as of the date of the complaint.

4, Respondent, in his response of October 28, 2013, stated he was out of town from
September 3" through 22, that this was explained to Complainant’s agent at the time of the
contract’s cancellation, but that the earnest money was refunded by check dated October 1, which
check had cleared by the date of the response.

5. At its meeting on November 15, 2013, the Commission found probable cause to
proceed against Respondent for violation of West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(8) .

6. The parties have agreed to settle the Complaint informally through the entry of this
Consent Decree.

7. The Commission has incurred expenses in the prosecution of this complaint in the
amount of $260.00, which expenses relate solely to the Commission’s legal expenses and do not
include costs reflecting time expended by Commission staff and other expenses incurred by the

Commission.

Conclusions of Law

1. West Virginia Code § 30-40-1 ef seq., vests the Commission with the authority and
responsibility to regulate real estate brokers, associate brokers and salespersons in the State of West
Virginia.

2. West Virginia Code § 30-40-7(1) gives the Commission all the discretionary power
to “impose one or more sanctions as considered appropriate in the circumstances for the discipline

of a licensee. Available sanctions include, but are not limited to, denial of a license or renewal
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thereof, administrative fine not to exceed one thousand dollars per day per violation, probation,
revocation, suspension, restitution, require additional education, censure, denial of future license,

downgrade of license, reprimand or order the return of compensation collected from an injured

consumer.”

3. West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(8) provides that the Commission has the authority
to revoke, suspend or otherwise discipline a licensee if he or she “[f]ails, within a reasonable time,
to account for or to remit moneys or other assets coming into his or her possession, which belongs

to others.”

4. Twenty-five days from the date of cancellation to the refunding of the earnest money
paid on such contract is not a reasonable time to remit moneys in a licensee’s possession which

belongs to others.

5. Respondent’s untimely return of money belonging to complainant is a violation of

West Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(8).

6. The above violation renders the Respondent’s license subject to discipline by the
Commission.
7. The Commission may assess administrative costs, which shall be placed in the

account of the Commission. Any fine shall be deposited in the state treasury’s general revenue
account. West Virginia Code § 30-1-8(a).
Consent

By signing below, Respondent agrees to the following:
1. Respondent has had the opportunity to consult with counsel and executes this Consent

Decree voluntarily, freely, without compulsion or duress and mindful that it has legal consequences.
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No person or entity has made any promise or given any inducement whatsoever to encourage
Respondent to make this settlement other than as set forth herein. Respondent acknowledges that
he may pursue this matter through appropriate administrative proceedings and is aware of his legal
rights regarding this matter, but intelligently and voluntarily waives such rights.

2. Respondent consents to the findings above and to the entry of the following Order:

Order

On the basis of the foregoing, the Commission hereby ORDERS as follows:

0 Respondent is REPRIMANDED.

2. Respondent shall pay a fine in the amount of $100.00 for his violation of West
Virginia Code § 30-40-19(a)(8).

3. Respondent agrees to pay Commission’s costs in this matter in the amount of two
hundred sixty dollars ($260.00).

4. The payments agreed to herein shall be paid within 30 days of the entry of this
Consent Decree bnge@((ﬁllgd?payable to the State of West Virginia and sent directly to the

p————
Commission Office.

5. Any deviation from the requirements of this Consent Decree, without the prior written
consent of the Commission, shall constitute a violation of an Order of the Commission and may,
upon action by the Commission, result in the summary suspension of Respondent's license until such
time as Respondent achieves full compliance.

The Commission shall immediately notify Respondent via certified mail of the alleged
violation of the Consent Decree and the summary suspension of Respondent’s license. Respondent

may request probationary reinstatement of the license through renewal of this Consent Decree, or
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execution of a new Consent decree which may contain different or additional terms. The
Commission is not bound to comply with Respondent’s request for probationary reinstatement.

In the event Respondent contests the allegations of violation of the Consent Decree resulting
in the suspension of Respondent’s license, Respondent may request a hearing to seek reinstatement
ofhis license. Any such hearing shall be scheduled and conducted in accordance with the provisions
of West Virginia Code §§ 30-1-8 and 30-40-1 et seq. and any procedural rules promulgated by the
Commission.

At its discretion, the Commission also may schedule a hearing on its own initiative for the
purpose of allowing the Commission to consider further discipline against Respondent based upon

Respondent’s violation of this Order of the Commission.

AGREED T(?) BY: "

1 DATE

ENTERED into the records of the Real Estate Commission this:

_ﬁ day of (9('('//’4 /U ,2013.

WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION,

o Al L ari

RICHARD E. STRAD R
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
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