You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server. Please enable scripts and reload this page.
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Main Content
State Agency Directory
Change Font Size
Search this site
WV Real Estate Commission
Meet the Commissioners
Meeting Minutes 2016/2017
Criminal Background Checks
After Passing Exam/s
Providers & Instructors
Search this site
Real Estate Commission
Prior to testing, each applicant must obtain the required amount of pre-licensing real estate education:
Salesperson - 90 hours
Broker - 180 hours
The ninety hour (six credit hour) course prescribed for applicants for a salesperson's license shall consist of:
30 clock hours - Real Estate Principles and Practice
20 clock hours - Real Estate Law
20 clock hours - Real Estate Finance
20 clock hours - Real Estate Appraisal
The additional ninety hour (six credit hour) course prescribed for applicants for a broker's license shall also consist of the same hours in each subject area, but shall consist of more in-depth coverage in each subject area.
The grading scale for all course providers offering mandatory pre-licensing real estat education shall be:
A - 95-100%
B - 86 - 94%
C - 75 - 85%
D - 71 - 74%
F - 0 - 70%
In order to sit for the real estate examination, the applicant must have earned a grade of A, B, or C in each subject area.
After a student has successfully completed an approved pre-license education course, the approved provider shall supply the student with a certificate of course completion which certifies the student's name and address, the course completion date, the number of hours in each subject area, and the letter grade earned.
All approved providers shall maintain records indicating the students who have registered for each course, the completion date of the course and the final results of their attendance. These records must be maintained for a minimum period of five (5) years and are subject to inspection by the Commission or its authorized representative. On December 31 of each year, every approved provider shall compile a list of the students completing each class during the previous calendar year and submit the information to the Real Estate Commission prior to January 31 of the succeeding year. Provided, that Post-Secondary Education Institutions approved under Section 30.1 of this rule are exempt from this paragraph.
The Commission will accept pre-license education courses approved by the Real Estate Regulatory Agency of any other licensing jurisdiction in meeting West Virginia pre-license education requirements if the jurisdiction offers the same privilege to West Virginia. The Commission will not give credit for classroom hours earned in excess of the number of hours awarded by the other jurisdiction.
For a current list of approved Real Estate salesperson pre-licensing education providers, please open the link:
For a current list of approved Real Estate Broker pre-licensing education providers, please open the link:
PRELICEN_Schools-- BR education-03-2017.pdf