You may be trying to access this site from a secured browser on the server. Please enable scripts and reload this page.
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Main Content
State Agency Directory
Change Font Size
Search this site
WV Real Estate Commission
Meet the Commissioners
Meeting Minutes 2016/2017
Criminal Background Checks
Providers & Instructors
Search this site
Real Estate Commission
Obtaining A Salesperson License
Basic Salesperson Licensing Requirements
Every applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
Every applicant must be a High School graduate or equivalent (GED) and an accumulative of ninety (90) hours from an approved pre-licensing education provider.
If you currently hold or have held a real estate license in any other state, you must contact the respective state’s Real Estate Commission and obtain a Certification of Licensure. The original certification must be submitted with your application OR prior to the examination deadline. The certification must be submitted within 60 days from the date it was created. Do not submit a copy of your license in lieu of a certification.
All applicants for an original Broker, Associate Broker, and Sales license are required to submit to a state and federal criminal background check prior to approval of the application and taking the licensing examination.
Pre-Licensing Education Requirements
Ninety (90) clock hours (six credit hours) of pre-licensing real estate education is required prior to submission of application. The pre-license education must be satisfactorily completed from a "Commission Approved" course provider. In order to be accepted, all pre-license education must have been completed during the five year period preceding the application date. The original certificate of course completion must be attached to your application to enable you to be scheduled for the examination.
Education requirement for Salesperson applicants who are currently licensed or previously licensed in other states:
Partial credit may be granted for real estate courses completed in other licensing jurisdictions. No substitution will be allowed for the 30-hour portion of the 90 hour salesperson pre-licensing requirement, which covers the West Virginia Real Estate Licensing Act and Legislative Rules.
All non-resident applicants are required to:
Obtain certifications from all Commissions or License Divisions in which they currently hold or have held a real estate license. The certification shall indicate the type of license held, the length of time the applicant has held the license, if the license was secured by passing a written examination, and clearly state whether or not the licensee has ever been subject to any disciplinary action. Send the original certification(s) of license with the application. Certifications that are dated more than 60 days prior to filing the West Virginia application will not be accepted.
Submit to fingerprinting and a criminal background check.
Comply with all provisions of the Real Estate License Act (WV Code § 30-40) and Legislative Rules.
Submit the following documents, in addition to your application:
Affidavit of Residency.pdf
Irrevocable Consent for Service for Process.pdf
At it's meeting on February 15, 2017, the West Virginia Real Estate Commission moved to eliminate all currently in use reciprocal agreements which allow full reciprocity between West Virginia and the counterpart state.
Out-of-State licensees who wish to obtain a WV license (Salesperson or Broker), will be required, in addition to the current requirements, to pass the WV Specific portion of the licensing examination for Salesperson or Broker.
The Commission will cease to process out-of-state applications, and issue licenses to out-of-state candidates.
This new procedure will be implemented on April 1, 2017.
Application Fee (first time filing): $ 25.00
Examination Fee: $ 96.00
Original Salesperson License: $ 75.00
Salesperson Renewal Fee (annual): $ 75.00 (late fees apply; see fee schedule)
All completed applications will be submitted to the Commission for review at the next scheduled meeting. No application will be presented to the Commission prior to the receipt of all required supplemental documentation.